July 25, 2024


Travel Finishes First

Focus on debate participants, not on absentee: Comelec

Debate Part 2. Nine of the 10 presidential aspirants who joined the Fee on Elections’ “PiliPinas Debates 2022” at the Harbor Yard Tent of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Resort in Pasay Town on March 19, 2022 are signing up for the 2nd component on Sunday (April 3). Except for Ferdinand Marcos Jr., candidates (from remaining) Ernesto Abella, Leody de Guzman, Manila Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso, Norberto Gonzales, Senator Panfilo Lacson, Faisal Mangondato, Dr. Jose Montemayor Jr., Senator Manny Pacquiao, and Vice President Leni Robredo have all verified their attendance. (PNA image by Avito Dalan)

MANILA – The Commission on Elections (Comelec) reported focus ought to be trained on individuals becoming a member of the 2nd section of its “PiliPinas Debates 2022” for presidential aspirants, somewhat than on UniTeam’s Ferdinand Marcos Jr.

Marcos skipped the to start with of the a few-portion presidential debates at the Harbor Back garden Tent of Sofitel Philippine Plaza in Pasay Metropolis on March 19.

As of submitting time, his camp has not issued a assertion yet on his participation on Sunday.

Soon after two solitary-moderator formats, it will be a city hall type for the third debate on April 24.

Comelec Commissioner George Garcia stated they are enthusiastic about the adjustments in structure for the second section.

“We would like to aim on all those who confirmed and will be present tomorrow (Sunday),” he reported in a Viber message on Saturday, when questioned if they are hopeful that Marcos will demonstrate up.

Dr. Jose Montemayor Jr., businessman Faisal Mangondato, Senators Panfilo Lacson and Manny Pacquiao, labor leader Leody de Guzman, previous national security adviser Norberto Gonzales, former presidential spokesperson Ernesto Abella, Manila Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso, and Vice President Leni Robredo are all confirmed for Sunday.

They will have 120 seconds or two minutes to answer a single typical query and yet another 30 seconds for rebuttal.

For every succeeding section, the candidates will be divided into teams of a few the place just about every team will be presented 1 concern to debate on.

All members will have 60 seconds just about every to supply their closing statements. (PNA)